Anglers reminded they need fishing license, FIN number
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police this week reminded recreational anglers that a Delaware fishing license is required for fishing, crabbing and clamming in both tidal and non-tidal waters statewide.
A resident annual Delaware recreational fishing license, which covers fresh and tidal waters as well as crabbing and clamming, costs $8.50 for anglers ages 16 through 64. Those younger than 16 and residents 65 and older are not required to purchase fishing licenses in Delaware. For non-resident anglers 16 or older, a Delaware fishing license costs $20.
Both resident and non-resident anglers 16 and older also are required to obtain a Delaware Fisherman Information Network (FIN) number. The free number is included as part of a Delaware fishing license purchase. License-exempt anglers, including Delaware residents 65 or older, may visit www.delaware-fin.com or call 1-800-432-9228 toll-free to obtain their free FIN number.
Delaware fishing licenses are sold online, at the licensing office in DNREC’s Richardson & Robbins Building, 89 Kings Highway, Dover, DE 19901, and by license agents statewide. For additional information, call (302) 739-9918.
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between June 11-17 made 2,827 contacts with anglers, boaters and the general public, issuing 50 citations. Officers responded to 74 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public.
Fishing citations issued during the week included: six citations for unlicensed fishing, three citations for no FIN number, possession of undersized oysters, possession of sponge crabs, seven citations for possession of undersized blue crab, possession of flounder parts, no oyster harvester license, crab pot tampering, possession of undersized white perch and possession of undersized summer flounder.
Other citations issued during the week included: four citations for no boating safety certificate, negligent operation of a motor vessel, operating a vessel under the influence of alcohol, two citations for no life jacket on a child age 12 or younger as required by law, two citations for operating a vessel with insufficient number of life jackets, three citations for possession of marijuana, and littering.